From | Message | ||
---|---|---|---|
|
![]() This move only applies when your opponent has moved his pawn for the first time. The pawn has to move two squares or you can't capture it. The pawns also have to be side by side as shown in the diagram. As you can see in the diagram white has just moved his pawn for the first time. He has also moved it two squares from e2 to e4. Blacks pawn is also by its side so all the rules are satisfied. So if black wants he can capture the pawn. You capture the pawn the usual way which is diagonally. Even though whites pawn is not on e3 this is where you place your pawn after you capture it. member where to put the pawn is that when you capture your opponents pawn en peasant you put it directly behind the square the pawn occupied. Remember the following rules for the move. *Your opponents pawn has made its first move. *Your opponents move is a two square advance. *Your pawn is either on its left or its ride side. *You can only capture the pawn when its just moved. What the last rule means is this, if your opponent moved the pawn two squares and his pawn is next to your pawn. You have to capture on your move. You can't move say move your knight and then say your opponent moves his bishop. Then you capture the pawn since they are still side by side. This is not legal. You have to capture the pawn immediately otherwise you have passed on the chance to use the en peasant rule. En Passant (French for in passing) I hope this thread helps beginners understand the rule. tennesseehiker This post was deleted by tennesseehiker on 04-Jul-09, 16:30. |
||
|
![]() |
||
bigpeta 30-Aug-11, 06:08 |
![]() www.youtube.com |
||
|
![]() |